Skip to main content

Report Elder Abuse

File your report by choosing a method below.


Call Protective Services

During regular office hours, call this toll-free number to reach InfoLine.


Call 2-1-1

During off-hours, weekends, and holidays, dial 2-1-1 to reach InfoLine.


Call Infoline

If you are calling from outside Connecticut, call InfoLine anytime, 24/7.


Report Form (W-675)

An optional report form is also available. Please fax the completed form to 1-860-424-5091.

Mandated Reporting

According to Connecticut Law, mandated reporters are generally anyone paid to care for older adults in any capacity such as: licensed or unlicensed professionals, physicians, surgeons, interns, nurses, patients’ advocates (excluding the Long-term Care Ombudsman staff and volunteers), medical examiners, dentists, optometrists, chiropractors, podiatrists, social workers, clergymen, police officers, pharmacists, psychologists, physical therapists, nursing home staff, emergency medical personnel, and any person paid for caring for an older adult by any institution, organization, agency, or facility, such as homemakers or companions. For the complete list, click here.

They are required to report suspected elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation or abandonment. They must alert the appropriate parties of their suspicion within 72 hours after the suspicion or belief arouse. Failure to do so can result in fines up to $500 and misdemeanor charges. 

If the older adult in question lives in a long-term care facility, then mandated reporters must follow procedures and complete the “Mandated Reporter Form for Long-term Care Facilities” (W-410), and fax it to the Department of Social Services, Social Work at 1-860-424-5091.

For additional information about Protective Services for the Elderly at the Department of Social Services, click here.

Mandated Reporter Form for Long-Term Care Facilities (W-410)

An optional report form is also available. Please fax the completed form to 1-860-424-5091.

Download Form W-410